Saving & Restoring Revised Advance Workflow

Tags:

Updated:

2 minute read

Users/Implementers of APPSeCONNECT requires to edit and modify workflows frequently as per the business requirement. Advance Workflows is enabled with the feature of saving revised editions which means users/implementers of APPSeCONNECT can now save a revised version of the created workflow and modify changes to the existing workflow with respect to the business process.

Scenario Briefing

As a User/Implementer, I want to commit changes to the designed workflow, and it has been observed that designed workflow doesnot fulfils the business process, but I want to save the designed workflow (version wise) before editing the workflow so that whenever needed I can restore the previous version to for revise purpose.

Saving Revisions is now possible on APPSeCONNECT and user can save multiple version of a workflow for revision.

Prerequisites of Saving & Restoring Revisions

  • You need a valid credentials to the APPSeCONNECT portal.
  • You need to have a saved workflow.

Steps for Saving workflows for Revision

  1. Login to APPSeCONNECT portal and navigate to Advance Workflow Section. The Advance Workflow Listing page opens.
  2. Create a Workflow or open an existing workflow. The page for designing and executing advance workflow opens.
    restoring-saving-workflow1
  3. In the Workflow Header Panel, Click SAVE REVISION, for saving a revised version of the existing workflow.
    restoring-saving-workflow2
    Note: The SAVE REVISION button appears only after saving a created Workflow.
  4. While saving a revision, user needs to provide a comment for distinguishing the workflow while restoring. Therefore, on clicking the SAVE REVISION button, user gets a window for adding COMMENT to the workflow that is being saved for later use.
    restoring-saving-workflow3
    Protip: It is recommended to provide the comment as per the business process or workflow design. For Ex: Workflow for adding Sales Order using Halt & Resume, Workflow for adding Business Partner using Delay Node.
  5. Clicking SAVE button, user gets confirmation message for the workflow being saved for revision. restoring-saving-workflow4
  6. Once the workflow is saved, user can click on the Revision History button. The user will get a sliding window with the view of all the revision workflows.
    restoring-saving-workflow5
  7. The Revision history window display the detail of the workflow that was first created. The details that will be displayed are:
    • Created By: Will display the name of the user, who created the original Workflow.
    • Created Date: Will display the date and time, when the workflow was first created.
  8. Users/Implementers of APPSeCONNECT will also get the privilege to filter workflow based upon the revision list. User needs to click on the Filter icon to enable the Search option. restoring-saving-workflow6
  9. The revision list will have all the workflows that were saved for revisions. The table will have the columns Version, Modified Date, Comment & Action.
  10. Hovering on each Revision Workflows, button with three horizontal dots will appear which will enable the user to provide actions to the workflows. The actions that can be implemented are:
    • Restore
    • Delete
  11. Users/Implementers will be able to edit the Revision Workflows by clicking on the Restore Button for that workflow.
    Note:
    • Any changes made on a restored workflow, on saving its revision, a new entry will be created in the Revision History. No entries would be deleted, if a revised workflow is saved for another revision.
    • On deleting a revision, every detail of that revision will be erased. User cannot restore the revision after deleting it from the Revision History.
    • Deploying of workflow has no dependability on revision of the workflow, which means restoring a workflow from revision will not save any deployment history.

Share your feedback